A Bible Comes Home to Walton

Over the years I have been able to assist many readers of Walton Tales with information to help them with their genealogical research into Walton families. Now, this blog has helped me with my own family history.

After reading Walton Tales, a lovely lady named Jenny contacted me as we share a great grandfather. Although I should have perhaps remembered her from my childhood, I rather embarrassingly did not.

Jenny sent me copies of two hand-written pages at the front of a family bible owned by her grandmother, Elizabeth Ann Southgate who lived at Kirby Cross. I remembered this lady from my childhood as my father’s ‘Aunt Lizzie’.

The bible entries added or corrected some of the data I had researched many years ago.

FrostBible1

 

 

I recently met up with Jenny, who lives in Suffolk, when she spent some time at the Lifehouse Spa and Hotel in Thorpe-le-Soken where she gave me the bible. She felt it should return home to Walton.

 

Frost Robert Arthur miller

 

 

Our great grandfather, Robert Arthur Frost pictured while working in the water mill at Walton.

Frost Robert Arthur + Mr Simmonds Tide millers

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

